A Brief Introduction On The Coins Of Republic Of India

India won its independence from the British deem on 15th August 1947. The coins that were issued after independence are known as Republic India Coins. However, until the year 1950 India retained the monetary system of using British coins. India issued its first minted coin upon August 15, 1950.

Though the auxiliary coins had same value, metal composition, and weight, the design of the coins was significantly alternating. The earlier coins had the effigy of the King or the British Monarch and this was now monster replaced subsequent to the fable of non-exploitation and goodwill, i.e. the Ashoka Pillar at Saranath.

On intensity of the Ashoka Pillar, “Government of India” was inscribed. The reverse of the coin has its own set of beautiful images, as it was inscribed taking into account a added motif, a pair of corn sheaves, and the valuation of the coin was inscribed in Hindi, as skillfully as in English. However, the monetary system remained unchanged once than one rupee consisting of 16 Annas.

The coins that were in use from the day of independence until August 15, 1950 were known as the “Frozen Series.” Then, the “Anna Series” was introduced and these represented the first coinage of the Republic of India.
The “Decimal Series” was introduced April 1, 1957. The rupee was now separated into 100 Paisa and the decimal paisa was termed as “Naya Paisa.” On June 1, 1964, the term ‘Naya’ (meaning accessory) was dropped and the coins were termed as “Paisa.” In this year, the “Aluminium Series” was introduced and the little denomination coins that were made taking place of bronze, cupro-nickel, nickel-brass, and aluminium-bronze were gradually minted in aluminium instead. This bend was made due to the rise in the commodity prices of these metals. Happy Republic day 2019 shayari

Later upon in the year 1988, the Aluminum series was discontinued and stainless steel coins were introduced into the push. The coinage included 10, 25, and 50 paise. The one rupee stainless steel coin was introduced in the year 1992. As the currency remarks could be issued at a lesser price, appropriately the remarks gained a lot of importance and there was a gradual amalgamation less in the usage of stainless steel coins.

However, even though the stainless steel coins are yet in existence they are rarely used due to the value of the coin decreasing. India even issues special coins that are minted in the memory of special people or undertakings. These coins are commonly known as commemorative coins. These are minted in various denominations and some of them describe Mahatma Gandhi, 1982- Asian games, Jawaharlal Nehru, Rajiv Gandhi, Indira Gandhi, and many more swiftly-known personalities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *